Sign In Forgot Password or Set Up New Password

Congregation Brothers of Israel

L'dor Vador - From Generation to Generation since 1883
לדור ודור


Chaired by Roz Zucker, the Membership Committee consists of Donna Nowicki, Lauri Preston, Paula Raimondo, Dianna Brandani, Michael Dubrow, Brandon Wind & advisor Gina Caplan. They currently strive to make CBOI appealing to those looking for a synagogue they can feel comfortable with, as well as focusing on membership retention and satisfaction. 


Chaired by Roz Zucker, the Communications Committee consists of Donna Nowicki, Lauri Preston, Paula Raimondo, Dianna Brandani, Michael Dubrow, Brandon Wind and advisor Gina Caplan. Besides creating and updating CBOI's  new website the Communications committee is making sure CBOI's presence is publicized throughout Bucks and Mercer Counties.  


Chaired by Julie Berezin, the Ritual Committee consists of Mark Nemiroff, Alan Agree, Sharon Gertzman, Sherry Klapper, Ellier Russ, Diane Strauss, Madeline Sturm, Barry Wind and Surelle Wind. They work with Rabbi Gaber to make policy recommendations related to the conduct of all religious services and life cycle events conducted at CBOI or under the auspices of CBOI in keeping with the tenets of Conservative Judaism and needs of the congregation. The Ritual Committee ensures the appropriate care and maintenance of Torahs, all ritual objects and prayer books. They make recommendations to the Board of Trustees for the purchase or acquisition of prayer books and related materials. They oversee coordinating ushers when necessary.

Education Committee

Co Chaired by Lauren Cell & Ellen Weiner, consisting of PTO Chair Jen Wind, Julie Berezin, Amy Deutsch, Helena Eisenberg, Sherry Klapper, & Sue Medoff,  This Committee works with  Education Director Joan Hersch to hire teachers and enhance the educational curriculum.

Buildings and Grounds

Donna Nowicki & Andrea Kornblum  work to make the interior and the exterior of CBOI more appealing.


Chaired by Brian Goldsmith, The Endowment Committee is made up of Dan Moonay, Madeline Sturm, Bob Sweed, and Jordan Warshafsky. The Board of Trustees established the 5910 Endowment Fund to enable CBOI to remain financially strong and viable until at least the Jewish year of 5910 (2150 Civil year). They are responsible for the supervision of the initial and ongoing investment and reinvestment of the Endowment Fund's assets.

Budget and Finance

Chaired by David Dafilou Financial Secretary,  The Budget and Finance Committee consists of Kevin Ulkloss, Michael Agin, Len Schultz, Jeff Weiss, and Leslie Floyd. The Budget and Finance Committee develops and presents an annual budget for approval of the Board of Trustees. They review periodic internal financial reports, prepared by CBOI's treasurer, and other financial statements. They also recommend actions to the Board as necessary to ensure CBOI's financial future. They institute and implement internal financial controls as appropriate.

Israel Forum

The Israel Forum is made up of Chair -Alan Agree and Ellier Russ. They provide programs and speakers to educate membership and larger community about and promote knowledge of Israel and issues related to the Middle East.


BTC Committee members are Maxine Goldsmith and Bob Sweed. As you can see on our History page, Congregation Brothers of Israel built two high rise apartment buildings flanking the Greenwood Avenue synagogue. As CBOI moved over to Newtown, the apartment towers, Trent Center East and West, were sold along with the synagogue building. However, the congregation retained an interest in Project Freedom, non-profit organization that developed and operates barrier-free housing to enable individuals with disabilities to live independently on the property we formerly owned. Maxine and Bob supervise all business having to do with Project Freedom and our former properties. 

Mon, April 22 2019 17 Nisan 5779